The Kaw Nation, Somteimes called the Kanza or Kansa are a federally recognized Native American tribe in Oklahoma and parts of Kansas. They come from the central Midwestern United States. The tribe known as Kaw have also been known as the "People of the South wind" and sometimes as "People of the water", KansaKazaKonzaConzaQuansKosa, and Kasa. Their tribal language is Kansa, classified as a Siouan language.

The U.S. State name "Kansas" was derived from the name of this tribe. The name of Topeka, capital city of Kansas, is said to be the Kaw word meaning "a good place to grow potatoes". The Kaw are a member of the Dhegiha branch of the Siouan language family. Oral history indicates that the ancestors of the five Dhegiha tribes migrated west from the east. The Quapaw separated from the other Dhegiha at the mouth of the Ohio, going down the Mississippi River to live in what is today the state of Arkansas. The other Dhegiha proceeded up the Mississippi and Missouri Rivers. The Osage left the main group in central Missouri; the Kaw halted upstream on the Missouri River in northwestern MIssouri and northeastern Kansas; the Omaha and Ponca continued north to settle in Nebraska and South Dakota.