The Iroquois or Haudenosaunee "People of the Longhouse") are a historical indigenous confederacy in northeast North America. The French were responsible for the name Iroquois, it is not an indigenous name. They were known during the colonial years to the French as the Iroquois League, later as the Iroquois Confederacy and to the English as the Five Nations, comprising the Mohawk, Onondaga, Oneida, Cayuga, and Seneca. After 1722, they accepted the Tuscarora people from the southeast into their confederacy, as they were also Iroquoian-speaking, consequently became known as the Six Nations.